Liberty was my first choice, but my second choice is…tyranny?

“My dad was my first choice.” Well what the hell is that supposed to mean? Liberty was my first choice but indefinite detention is my second? A free market economy was my first choice but corporatism is my second? The 2nd amendment was my first choice, but assault weapons bans are my second? The Constitution was my first choice but plutocracy is my second? Say it ain’t so Rand.

I voted for Rand in 2010 (More accurately – I tried to vote for him, boss woulnd’t allow me to leave, polls had just closed when I’d arrived). While I understand his reasons for making this decision, it doesn’t change the fact that those reasons are all political. He obviously believes this decision will help him and the liberty movement down the line. I understand that. But history tells us that these political decisions have never served as an instrument of change. This decision does not promote his political ideals, they undercut them. He is now actively campaigning for the very things that he believes are leading this country into squalor and totalitarianism. By joining the establishment, he becomes a servant of the establishment, whether he means to or not. It’s not unlike doing business with the Mafia, whatever you gain by the partnership is lost by being forever in their debt.  But as always, I reserve the right to be wrong.

“Above all, do not lie to yourself. A man who lies to himself and believes his own lies comes to a point where he does not discern any truth either in himself or anywhere around him, and thus falls into disrespect towards himself and others.” – Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Leave a Reply

